Updated Jan 26, 2024 - Politics & Policy

Who isn't running for re-election in the House and Senate in 2024

The U.S. Capitol building.

Photo: Mandel Ngan/AFP via Getty Images

So far, at least 44 U.S. House members and seven U.S. senators are not seeking re-election in 2024.

Why it matters: The incumbents' decisions to run for other offices or retire have left key seats open, which could determine Congress' balance of power in 2025.

  • More House and Senate members have announced they are not seeking re-election than at this point in the 2022 cycle, according to Ballotpedia.

The latest: Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.), who was ousted as House speaker in a historic vote in October, resigned in December.

  • McCarthy said he will not step away from politics and will "continue to recruit our country's best and brightest to run for elected office."

Of note: Embattled Rep. George Santos (R-N.Y.) was expelled from Congress in a historic vote on Dec. 1 following a damning House Ethics Committee report.

Congressional members not seeking re-election in 2024:



Editor's note: This article has been updated as more lawmakers have announced their exits. It has been updated to remove Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-Texas), who announced she's running for re-election after losing her mayoral campaign in Houston. It has also been updated to remove Rep. Victoria Spartz (R-Ind.), who walked back a plan to not run for political office in 2024.

Go deeper: How abortion could upend the 2024 battle for Congress

Go deeper