May 8, 2024 - News

Congressional election results roundup: Spartz wins nasty primary

An interactive dashboard showing the latest results of the uncontested presidential, gubernatorial, senatorial and congressional primaries in Indiana.
Data: Associated Press; Chart: Axios Visuals

Republican congressman Jim Banks will face Valerie McCray in the U.S. Senate race this fall.

Driving the news: McCray defeated Marc Carmichael in the Democratic primary for the seat being vacated by Republican Mike Braun, who won the GOP primary for governor on Tuesday.

  • Banks, who has a significant fundraising advantage over his November opponent, was unopposed in the Republican primary after farmer John Rust was disqualified from the ballot.
  • If elected, McCray would be the first Black female to represent the state in the U.S. Senate.
  • Also on the ballot this November is Andrew Horning, the Libertarian candidate selected during the party's annual convention.

The big picture: Voters also weighed in on Indy-area congressional seats.

In the 5th District Republican primary, Rep. Victoria Spartz beat eight other candidates gunning for the district that includes Hamilton County.

  • The incumbent's closest competition, Rep. Chuck Goodrich, was also the main person miffed by her decision to get back in the game after announcing plans to retire at the end of last year.
  • On the Democratic side, Deborah A. Pickett won the primary and will battle Spartz for control of the consistently Republican district this fall.

In Indiana's 6th District, former Indianapolis mayoral candidate Jefferson Shreve beat six others in pursuit of the seat left open by U.S. Rep. Greg Pence after three terms.

  • Shreve will run against Democrat Cynthia Wirth and Libertarian James Sceniak in November.

In Indiana's 7th District which includes Marion County, victorious Democratic incumbent Rep. André Carson knows he'll face Libertarian Rusty Johnson in November, but his Republican opponent is to be determined.

  • The Republican race hadn't been called by Wednesday morning, but the late Jennifer Pace was the top vote-getter. A Republican caucus will be needed to find a replacement for Pace who died in March.

Here are the results of the rest of Tuesday's congressional races:

  • Indiana's 1st District, which covers northwest Indiana, saw ​​Randy Niemeyer win the Republican primary. Niemeyer will run against incumbent Democrat Rep. Frank J. Mrvan in the general election.
  • The Republican race in Indiana's 3rd District drew eight candidates, but Marlin Stuzman was the last politician standing. On the Democratic side, Kiley Adolph beat Phil Goss in a one-on-one contest.
  • The 4th Congressional District races ended with incumbent Rep. Jim Baird beating Charles Bookwalter and John Piper on the Republican side; and Derrick Holder beating Rimpi Girn on the Democratic side.
  • In the Republican race for Indiana's 8th District, state Sen. Mark Messmer beat seven others to fill the seat left open by U.S. Rep. Larry Bucshon. Messmer will face Democratic primary winner Erik Hurt.
  • Voters in Indiana's 9th District chose incumbent Erin Houchin in the Republican primary, and Timothy Peck in the Democratic primary.

Get more local stories in your inbox with Axios Indianapolis.


Support local journalism by becoming a member.

Learn more

More Indianapolis stories


Get a free daily digest of the most important news in your backyard with Axios Indianapolis.


Support local journalism by becoming a member.

Learn more