Updated Dec 18, 2019 - Politics & Policy

The House Democrats supporting impeachment from districts Trump won

U.S. Capitol reflected in stone

Photo: Samuel Corum/Getty Images

So far, 28 of the 31 moderate Democrats who represent districts that President Trump won in 2016 have announced they will back Trump's impeachment on Wednesday, despite fears that their votes could put their seats at risk in 2020.

The big picture: Democratic members and committee staffers told Axios' Alayna Treene they expect four to six moderate Democrats to break ranks and vote against the articles.

Democrats from Trump districts supporting at least one article of impeachment:

  1. Tom O'Halleran, Ariz. 1st (Partisan Voter Index, via Cook Political Report: R+2)
  2. Lucy McBath, Ga. 6th (R+8)
  3. Cheri Bustos, Ill. 17th (D+3)
  4. Lauren Underwood, Ill. 14th (R+5)
  5. Cindy Axne, Iowa 3rd (R+1)
  6. Abby Finkenauer, Iowa 1st (D+1)
  7. Dave Loebsack, Iowa 2nd (D+1)
  8. Jared Golden, Maine 2nd (R+2)
  9. Elissa Slotkin, Mich. 8th (R+4)
  10. Haley Stevens, Mich. 11th (R+4)
  11. Angie Craig, Minn. 2nd (R+2)
  12. Susie Lee, Nev. 3rd (R+2)
  13. Chris Pappas, N.H. 1st (R+2)
  14. Josh Gottheimer, N.J. 5th (R+3)
  15. Andy Kim, N.J. 3rd (R+2)
  16. Mikie Sherrill, N.J. 11th (R+3)
  17. Xochitl Torres Small, N.M. 2nd (R+6)
  18. Anthony Brindisi, N.Y. 22nd (R+6)
  19. Antonio Delgado, N.Y. 19th (R+2)
  20. Sean Patrick Maloney, N.Y. 18th (R+1)
  21. Max Rose, N.Y. 11th (R+3)
  22. Kendra Horn, Okla. 5th (R+10)
  23. Matt Cartwright, Pa. 8th (R+1)
  24. Conor Lamb, Pa. 17th (R+3)
  25. Joe Cunningham, S.C. 1st (R+10)
  26. Ben McAdams, Utah 4th (R+13)
  27. Elaine Luria, Va. 2nd (R+3)
  28. Abigail Spanberger, Va. 7th (R+6)

Undecided Democrats representing Trump districts:

  1. Ron Kind, Wis. 3rd (Even)

Of note: Rep. Jared Golden (D-Maine), who represents a district Trump won by 2 points in 2016, will vote on the article of impeachment for abuse of power, but not the article for obstruction of Congress, according to Bangor Daily News.

The other side: A White House official told Axios' Jonathan Swan that New Jersey Rep. Jefferson Van Drew, who plans to oppose the articles of impeachment, will leave the Democratic Party to become a Republican. Van Drew has long opposed impeachment, and Trump won his district in 2016 by nearly 5 points.

  • As a conservative Democrat, Minnesota's 7th District Rep. Collin Peterson said he will not vote for the articles unless new information convinces him otherwise. Peterson also said he's been approached to join the Republican Party, but plans to remain a Democrat, according to Newsweek.

Go deeper:

Editor's note: This post has been corrected to reflect the fact that Antonio Delgado represents New York's 19th district (not the 17th).

Go deeper