Expand chart
Graphic: Danielle Alberti, Lazaro Gamio/Axios Visuals

Only two House Democrats crossed party lines to vote to oppose both articles of impeachment against President Trump on Wednesday. Both of them are feeling the pressure of representing swing districts Trump won in 2016.

Why it matters: Dissent was low as dozens of other Democrats who represent districts that Trump won sided with impeachment, either voting their conscience or calculating it could be even politically riskier to vote no.

Who voted "no"
  • Rep. Collin Peterson (D-Minn.), who has represented Minnesota's 7th district since 1991. His district pivoted to support Trump after voting in Obama for two terms.
  • Rep. Jeff Van Drew (D-N.J.), a freshman Democrat in New Jersey's 2nd district who is expected to go Republican. He has voted against Trump on nearly all issues except impeachment. His district swung to support Trump in 2016 after voting in Obama for two terms.

Also worth noting: Rep. Jared Golden (D-Maine), a freshman, followed through on his promise to vote yes for the impeachment article accusing Trump of abusing his power — but not the second, which alleges that Trump obstructed Congress. Golden represents Maine's 2nd district, which voted for Trump in 2016 after voting in Obama for two terms.

  • Rep. Tulsi Gabbard (D-Hawaii), the only House Democrat to remain publicly undecided on impeachment at the 11th hour, voted "present" for both articles. She was elected to Hawaii's 2nd district in 2013, which remained blue in 2016 as a historically Democratic state.
  • Gabbard characterized her vote as "standing in the center," saying in a statement that she "could not in good conscience vote against impeachment because I believe President Trump is guilty of wrongdoing" — but that a vote for this impeachment would be part of a "partisan process."

The backstory: Peterson, Van Drew and Golden — the latter of which are freshman lawmakers — have publicly opposed the impeachment inquiry since October. Gabbard has introduced a resolution to censure Trump as a less severe alternative to removing him from office.

Go deeper:

Go deeper

Biden raises $141 million more than Trump

Democratic presidential nominee Joe Biden speaks during a September campaign event in Wilmington, Delaware. Photo: Alex Wong/Getty Images

Joe Biden's campaign, the Democratic National Committee and joint fundraising committees raised $466 million cash on hand, the presidential candidate's team announced late Sunday.

Why it matters: President Trump's campaign raised $325 million, his campaign communications director Tim Murtaugh announced Friday. In the spring, Biden was $187 million behind Trump and the Republican National Committee.

Driving the news: Slower spending by Biden's campaign and heavy spending by Trump's in the spring and record summer fund-raising hauls that spiked after he named Sen. Kamala Harris (D-Calif.) as his running mate contributed to the turnaround, notes the New York Times, which first reported the news.

Editor's note: This is a developing news story. Please check back for updates.

Virtual Emmys address chaotic year for American TV and society

Emmy Host Jimmy Kimmel during rehearsals Friday for the 72nd Annual Emmy Awards at the Staples Center in Los Angeles. Photo: Al Seib/ Los Angeles Times via Getty Images

The Emmy Awards Sunday night addressed the major U.S. issues this year — including the protests on systemic racism and police brutality, the wildfires engulfing parts of the West Coast, the census, the pandemic, essential works and the election.

Why it matters: Award shows have always addressed wider cultural issues, but this year — amid unprecedented stress and uncertainty — that trend has accelerated.

Updated 1 hour ago - Politics & Policy

Coronavirus dashboard

Illustration: Sarah Grillo/Axios

  1. Global: Total confirmed cases as of 11:30 p.m. ET: 30,919,638 — Total deaths: 959,332— Total recoveries: 21,152,996Map.
  2. U.S.: Total confirmed cases as of 9:30p.m. ET: 6,799,141 — Total deaths: 199,474 — Total recoveries: 2,590,671 — Total tests: 95,108,559Map.
  3. Politics: Testing czar on Trump's CDC contradictions: "Everybody is right" Ex-FDA chief: Career scientists won't be "easily cowed" by political vaccine pressure.
  4. Education: What we overlooked in the switch to remote learning.
  5. Health: The dwindling chances of eliminating COVID-19 — 7 states set single-day coronavirus case records last week.
  6. World: England sets £10,000 fine for breaking self-isolation rules — The countries painting their pandemic recoveries green.