Updated Nov 21, 2018

Full list: 2018 midterm election seats that flipped

Photo: Getty Images

Republicans have picked up Senate seats in Indiana, Missouri and North Dakota, and successfully defended one in Tennessee. In the House, Democrats flipped 41 seats.

The bottom line: Democrats have won control of the House and are waiting for more results in a few tight districts they hope to flip. Meanwhile, Republicans have secured control of the Senate, which stands at 53-47 after Mississippi Republican Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith defeated Democratic challenger Mike Espy in an election runoff.

  • Indiana: Republican Mike Braun has unseated Sen. Joe Donnelly in Indiana.
  • North Dakota: Republican Rep. Kevin Cramer has defeated Democratic incumbent Sen. Heidi Heitkamp.
  • Missouri: Republican Josh Hawley unseated Democrat incumbent Sen. Claire McCaskill.
  • Florida: Republican Rick Scott defeated Democrat Bill Nelson.
  • Nevada: Democrat Jacky Rosen beat Republican incumbent Dean Heller.
  • Arizona: Democratic Rep. Kyrsten Sinema flipped Sen. Jeff Flake's (R) seat from red to blue.
  • Virginia's 2nd: Democrat Elaine Luria beat out incumbent Republican Scott Taylor.
  • Virginia's 7th: Democrat Abigail Spanberger beat incumbent Republican Dave Brat.
  • Virginia's 10th: Democrat Jennifer Wexton unseated incumbent Republican Rep. Barbara Comstock.
  • Florida's 26th: Democrat Debbie Mucarsel-Powell defeated Republican Rep. Carlos Curbelo.
  • Florida's 27th: Democrat Donna Shalala defeated Republican Maria Elvira Salazar.
  • New Jersey's 2nd: Democrat Jeff Van Drew defeated Republican Seth Grossman.
  • New Jersey's 3rd: Democratic newcomer Andy Kim defeated incumbent Republican Rep. Tom MacArthur.
  • New Jersey's 7th: Democrat Tom Malinowski ousted incumbent Republican Leonard Lance.
  • New Jersey's 11th: Democrat Mikie Sherrill won the race for the open seat against Republican Jay Webber.
  • New York's 11th: Max Rose defeated Republican Dan Donovan, the only Republican House member in New York City.
  • New York's 22nd: Democrat Anthony Brindisi defeats GOP U.S. Rep. Claudia Tenney.
  • New York's 19th: Democrat Antonio Delgado edges out incumbent Republican Rep. John Faso.
  • Pennsylvania's 5th: Democrat Mary Gay Scanlon won against Republican Pearl Kim in the district which was reformed after the state’s gerrymandered map was redrawn.
  • Pennsylvania's 6th: Democrat Chrissy Houlahan beat out Republican Greg McCauley for the open seat.
  • Pennsylvania's 7th: Democrat Susan Wild defeated Republican Marty Nothstein for the open seat.
  • Pennsylvania's 14: Republican Guy Reschenthaler defeated Democrat Bibiana Boerio.
  • Minnesota's 2nd: Democrat Angie Craig unseated Republican incumbent Jason Lewis.
  • Minnesota's 3rd: Dean Phillips defeated incumbent Republican Erik Paulsen.
  • Kansas' 3rd: Democrat Sharice Davids defeated Republican incumbent Kevin Yoder.
  • Colorado's 6th: Democrat Jason Crow unseated incumbent Republican Mike Coffman.
  • Texas' 32nd: Democrat Colin Allred beat incumbent Republican Pete Sessions.
  • Oklahoma's 5th: Democrat Kendra Horn defeated Republican Steve Russell.
  • Arizona's 2nd: Democrat Ann Kirkpatrick topped Republican Lea Marquez Peterson.
  • Iowa's 1st: Democrat Abby Finkenauer unseated Republican incumbent Rod Blum.
  • Iowa's 3rd: Democrat Cindy Axne defeated incumbent Republican David Young.
  • Illinois' 14th: Democrat Lauren Underwood unseated incumbent Republican Randy Hultgren.
  • Illinois' 6: Democrat Sean Casten defeated incumbent Republican Rep. Peter Roskam.
  • Georgia's 6th: Democrat Lucy McBath defeated Republican Rep. Karen Handel.
  • Maine's 2nd: Democrat Jared Golden defeated Republican incumbent Rep. Bruce Poliquin.
  • Pennsylvania's 17: Democrat Connor Lamb beat Rep. Keith Rothfus.
  • South Carolina's 1st: Democrat Joe Cunningham defeated Rep. Katie Arrington.
  • Michigan's 8th: Democrat Elissa Slotkin defeated incumbent Mike Bishop.
  • Michigan's 11th: Democrat Haley Stevens defeated Republican Lena Epstein.
  • Minnesota's 1st: Republican Jim Hagdorn defeated Democrat Dan Feehan.
  • New Mexico's 2nd: Democrat Xochitl Torres Small defeated Republican Yvette Herrell.
  • California's 10th: Democrat Josh Harder defeated Republican Jeff Denham.
  • California's 25th: Democrat Katie Hill defeated Republican Rep. Steve Knight.
  • California's 39th: Democrat Gil Cisneros defeated Republican Young Kim.
  • California's 45th: Democrat Katie Porter beat incumbent Republican Mimi Walters.
  • California's 49th: Democrat Mike Levin defeated Republican Diane Harkey.
  • California's 48th: Democrat Harley Rouda defeated Republican Dana Rohrabacher.
  • Washington's 8th: Democrat Kim Schrier defeated Republican Dino Rossi.
  • Utah's 4th: Democrat Ben McAdams defeated Republican incumbent Rep. Mia Love.

Go deeper: Live map: 2018 midterm elections results

Editor's note: This is an updating story.

Go deeper

Coronavirus dashboard

Illustration: Sarah Grillo/Axios

  1. Global: Total confirmed cases as of 9 p.m. ET: 721,584 — Total deaths: 33,958 — Total recoveries: 149,122.
  2. U.S.: Leads the world in cases. Total confirmed cases as of 9 p.m. ET: 142,106 — Total deaths: 2,479 — Total recoveries: 2,686.
  3. Federal government latest: President Trump says his administration will extend its "15 Days to Slow the Spread" guidelines until April 30.
  4. Public health updates: Fauci says 100,000 to 200,000 Americans could die from virus.
  5. State updates: Louisiana governor says state is on track to exceed ventilator capacity by end of this week — Cuomo says Trump's mandatory quarantine comments "panicked" some people into fleeing New York
  6. World updates: Italy on Sunday reports 756 new deaths, bringing its total 10,779. Spain reports almost 840 dead, another new daily record that bring its total to over 6,500.
  7. What should I do? Answers about the virus from Axios expertsWhat to know about social distancingQ&A: Minimizing your coronavirus risk
  8. Other resources: CDC on how to avoid the virus, what to do if you get it.

Subscribe to Mike Allen's Axios AM to follow our coronavirus coverage each morning from your inbox.

World coronavirus updates: Cases surge past 720,000

Data: The Center for Systems Science and Engineering at Johns Hopkins, the CDC, and China's Health Ministry. Note: China numbers are for the mainland only and U.S. numbers include repatriated citizens and confirmed plus presumptive cases from the CDC

There are now more than 720,000 confirmed cases of the coronavirus around the world, according to data from Johns Hopkins. The virus has now killed more than 33,000 people — with Italy alone reporting over 10,000 deaths.

The big picture: Governments around the world have stepped up public health and economic measures to stop the spread of the virus and soften the financial impact. In the U.S., now the site of the largest outbreak in the world, President Trump said Sunday that his administration will extend its "15 Days to Slow the Spread" guidelines until April 30.

Go deeperArrowUpdated 1 hour ago - Health

Trump says peak coronavirus deaths in 2 weeks, extends shutdown

Photo: Tasos Katopodis/Getty Images

President Trump is extending his administration's "15 days to slow the spread" shutdown guidelines for an additional month in the face of mounting coronavirus infections and deaths and pressure from public health officials and governors.

Driving the news: With the original 15-day period that was announced March 16 about to end, officials around the country had been bracing for a premature call to return to normalcy from a president who's been venting lately that the prescription for containing the virus could be worse than the impacts of the virus itself.

Go deeperArrow3 hours ago - Health