Updated Jul 28, 2020 - Health

Travelers from 27 high-risk states must quarantine after coming into D.C.

DC Mayor Bowser

D.C. Mayor Muriel Bowser. Photo: Marvin Joseph/The Washington Post via Getty Images

The District of Columbia is requiring visitors from high-risk areas on nonessential travel to self-isolate for 14 days, the city's health department announced last week.

What's new: The city released a list of 27 high-risk states on Monday, which will be updated every two weeks. California, Florida, Georgia, Arizona, Wisconsin and Texas are among those listed.

Between the lines: Workers considered essential are exempt from the order, which likely includes members of Congress. Maryland and Virginia are also currently exempt.

Go deeper: N.Y., N.J. and CT to require travelers from 31 states to quarantine

Go deeper