Updated Nov 20, 2018 - Politics & Policy

Full list: 2018 midterm election seats that flipped

Photo: Getty Images

Republicans have picked up Senate seats in Indiana, Missouri and North Dakota, and successfully defended one in Tennessee. In the House, Democrats flipped 41 seats.

The bottom line: Democrats have won control of the House and are waiting for more results in a few tight districts they hope to flip. Meanwhile, Republicans have secured control of the Senate, which stands at 53-47 after Mississippi Republican Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith defeated Democratic challenger Mike Espy in an election runoff.


  • Indiana: Republican Mike Braun has unseated Sen. Joe Donnelly in Indiana.
  • North Dakota: Republican Rep. Kevin Cramer has defeated Democratic incumbent Sen. Heidi Heitkamp.
  • Missouri: Republican Josh Hawley unseated Democrat incumbent Sen. Claire McCaskill.
  • Florida: Republican Rick Scott defeated Democrat Bill Nelson.
  • Nevada: Democrat Jacky Rosen beat Republican incumbent Dean Heller.
  • Arizona: Democratic Rep. Kyrsten Sinema flipped Sen. Jeff Flake's (R) seat from red to blue.


  • Virginia's 2nd: Democrat Elaine Luria beat out incumbent Republican Scott Taylor.
  • Virginia's 7th: Democrat Abigail Spanberger beat incumbent Republican Dave Brat.
  • Virginia's 10th: Democrat Jennifer Wexton unseated incumbent Republican Rep. Barbara Comstock.
  • Florida's 26th: Democrat Debbie Mucarsel-Powell defeated Republican Rep. Carlos Curbelo.
  • Florida's 27th: Democrat Donna Shalala defeated Republican Maria Elvira Salazar.
  • New Jersey's 2nd: Democrat Jeff Van Drew defeated Republican Seth Grossman.
  • New Jersey's 3rd: Democratic newcomer Andy Kim defeated incumbent Republican Rep. Tom MacArthur.
  • New Jersey's 7th: Democrat Tom Malinowski ousted incumbent Republican Leonard Lance.
  • New Jersey's 11th: Democrat Mikie Sherrill won the race for the open seat against Republican Jay Webber.
  • New York's 11th: Max Rose defeated Republican Dan Donovan, the only Republican House member in New York City.
  • New York's 22nd: Democrat Anthony Brindisi defeats GOP U.S. Rep. Claudia Tenney.
  • New York's 19th: Democrat Antonio Delgado edges out incumbent Republican Rep. John Faso.
  • Pennsylvania's 5th: Democrat Mary Gay Scanlon won against Republican Pearl Kim in the district which was reformed after the state’s gerrymandered map was redrawn.
  • Pennsylvania's 6th: Democrat Chrissy Houlahan beat out Republican Greg McCauley for the open seat.
  • Pennsylvania's 7th: Democrat Susan Wild defeated Republican Marty Nothstein for the open seat.
  • Pennsylvania's 14: Republican Guy Reschenthaler defeated Democrat Bibiana Boerio.
  • Minnesota's 2nd: Democrat Angie Craig unseated Republican incumbent Jason Lewis.
  • Minnesota's 3rd: Dean Phillips defeated incumbent Republican Erik Paulsen.
  • Kansas' 3rd: Democrat Sharice Davids defeated Republican incumbent Kevin Yoder.
  • Colorado's 6th: Democrat Jason Crow unseated incumbent Republican Mike Coffman.
  • Texas' 32nd: Democrat Colin Allred beat incumbent Republican Pete Sessions.
  • Oklahoma's 5th: Democrat Kendra Horn defeated Republican Steve Russell.
  • Arizona's 2nd: Democrat Ann Kirkpatrick topped Republican Lea Marquez Peterson.
  • Iowa's 1st: Democrat Abby Finkenauer unseated Republican incumbent Rod Blum.
  • Iowa's 3rd: Democrat Cindy Axne defeated incumbent Republican David Young.
  • Illinois' 14th: Democrat Lauren Underwood unseated incumbent Republican Randy Hultgren.
  • Illinois' 6: Democrat Sean Casten defeated incumbent Republican Rep. Peter Roskam.
  • Georgia's 6th: Democrat Lucy McBath defeated Republican Rep. Karen Handel.
  • Maine's 2nd: Democrat Jared Golden defeated Republican incumbent Rep. Bruce Poliquin.
  • Pennsylvania's 17: Democrat Connor Lamb beat Rep. Keith Rothfus.
  • South Carolina's 1st: Democrat Joe Cunningham defeated Rep. Katie Arrington.
  • Michigan's 8th: Democrat Elissa Slotkin defeated incumbent Mike Bishop.
  • Michigan's 11th: Democrat Haley Stevens defeated Republican Lena Epstein.
  • Minnesota's 1st: Republican Jim Hagdorn defeated Democrat Dan Feehan.
  • New Mexico's 2nd: Democrat Xochitl Torres Small defeated Republican Yvette Herrell.
  • California's 10th: Democrat Josh Harder defeated Republican Jeff Denham.
  • California's 25th: Democrat Katie Hill defeated Republican Rep. Steve Knight.
  • California's 39th: Democrat Gil Cisneros defeated Republican Young Kim.
  • California's 45th: Democrat Katie Porter beat incumbent Republican Mimi Walters.
  • California's 49th: Democrat Mike Levin defeated Republican Diane Harkey.
  • California's 48th: Democrat Harley Rouda defeated Republican Dana Rohrabacher.
  • Washington's 8th: Democrat Kim Schrier defeated Republican Dino Rossi.
  • Utah's 4th: Democrat Ben McAdams defeated Republican incumbent Rep. Mia Love.

Go deeper: Live map: 2018 midterm elections results

Editor's note: This is an updating story.

Go deeper