Sign up for our daily briefing

Make your busy days simpler with Axios AM/PM. Catch up on what's new and why it matters in just 5 minutes.

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Catch up on the day's biggest business stories

Subscribe to Axios Closer for insights into the day’s business news and trends and why they matter

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Stay on top of the latest market trends

Subscribe to Axios Markets for the latest market trends and economic insights. Sign up for free.

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Sports news worthy of your time

Binge on the stats and stories that drive the sports world with Axios Sports. Sign up for free.

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Tech news worthy of your time

Get our smart take on technology from the Valley and D.C. with Axios Login. Sign up for free.

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Get the inside stories

Get an insider's guide to the new White House with Axios Sneak Peek. Sign up for free.

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Catch up on coronavirus stories and special reports, curated by Mike Allen everyday

Catch up on coronavirus stories and special reports, curated by Mike Allen everyday

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Want a daily digest of the top Denver news?

Get a daily digest of the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Denver

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Want a daily digest of the top Des Moines news?

Get a daily digest of the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Des Moines

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Want a daily digest of the top Twin Cities news?

Get a daily digest of the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Twin Cities

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Want a daily digest of the top Tampa Bay news?

Get a daily digest of the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Tampa Bay

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Want a daily digest of the top Charlotte news?

Get a daily digest of the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Charlotte

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Want a daily digest of the top Nashville news?

Get a daily digest of the most important stories affecting your hometown with the Axios Nashville newsletter.

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Want a daily digest of the top Columbus news?

Get a daily digest of the most important stories affecting your hometown with the Axios Columbus newsletter.

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Want a daily digest of the top Dallas news?

Get a daily digest of the most important stories affecting your hometown with the Axios Dallas newsletter.

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Sign up for Axios NW Arkansas

Stay up-to-date on the most important and interesting stories affecting NW Arkansas, authored by local reporters

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Evan Vucci / AP

It's day six of President Trump's first foreign trip, and he'll be spending it in Brussels where he'll meet with a series of European leaders and participate in Thursday's NATO summit before returning to Italy later this evening. Live updates per White House pool reports.

The latest: Trump's arrived for the night in Sicily.

4:06am ET/ 10:06am GMT+2: President Trump departed the U.S. Ambassador to Belgium's Residence en route to the European Union Headquarters for a bilateral meeting with EU President Donald Tusk and European commission President Jean-Claude Juncker. He rode in the Beast, the president's armored Cadillac limousine, which carried the American and Belgian flags. The poolers note that there was a heavy security presence on the streets: the city was largely empty, large trucks blocked many intersections and scores of armed police lined the route.

Geert Vanden Wijngaert / AP

5am ET/ 11am GMT+2: Trump, President Tusk, and President Juncker held a meeting at the newly-completed EU Headquarters, known as Europa. The two leaders sat across from each other at the center of a long, rectangular table. The conference room had EU and US flags along the wall, and small flower arrangements at the center of the table. Trump then told the leaders about his foreign trip. "I started in Saudi Arabia. We covered a lot of countries, a lot of leaders. Some great meetings in Saudi Arabia... It was very spectacular. I don't think there was ever anything like that. That was beyond anything anyone's seen. We went to the Pope. Very impressive. The Pope was terrific."

Stephanie Lecocq / AP
Olivier Matthys / AP

5:30am ET/ 11:30am GMT+2: Trump departed EU headquarters and arrived back the U.S. Ambassador's residence at 11:38am.

Olivier Matthys / AP

7:12am ET/ 1:12pm GMT+2: French President Emmanuel Macron arrived at the US Ambassador's residence, where he was greeted outside by Trump and Melania. Trump shook hands with Macron, who he was meeting for the first time, and asked, "How are you?" before the three went inside.

Peter Dejong / AP

7:20am ET/ 1:20pm GMT+2: Before sitting down for a one-on-one meeting, President Trump and French President Macron delivered brief remarks. "It is my great honor to be with the newly elected president of France, who ran an incredible campaign and had a tremendous victory. All over the world they're talking about it. And we have a lot to discuss, including terrorism and other things. Congratulations. Great job," said Trump. Macron replied, "For my part, I'm also very happy to be with President Trump. We have an extremely large agenda to discuss: the fight against terrorism, the economy, climate and energy."

The pooler notes that the two leaders then shook hands for an extended period of time. "Each president gripped the other's hand with considerable intensity, their knuckles turning white and their jaws clenching and faces tightening."
Evan Vucci / AP

8:58am ET/ 2:58pm GMT+2: Melania tweets her thanks to the Queen Fabiola University Hospital in Brussels, where she did arts and crafts with the patients.

A tweet previously embedded here has been deleted or was tweeted from an account that has been suspended or deleted.

10:15am ET/ 4:15pm GMT+2: Trump arrived at the NATO headquarters in Brussels. He will soon deliver remarks at the unveiling of Article 5 and Berlin Wall memorials.

Matt Dunham / AP

10:45am ET/ 4:45pm GMT+2: Trump delivered remarks at unveiling of Article 5 and Berlin Wall memorials at the NATO headquarters:

"The recent attack on Manchester and the United Kingdom demonstrates the depths of the evil we face with terrorism... it was a barbaric and viscous attack upon our civilization... all people who cherish life must unite in finding, exposing and removing these killers and extremists, and yes losers. They are losers... The NATO of the future must include a great focus on terrorism, and immigrations... these grave security concerns are the same reason I have been very very direct with Secretary Jens Stoltenberg and members of the alliance in saying NATO members must finally contribute their fair share and meet their financial obligations."
Matt Dunham / AP

10:55am ET/ 4:55pm GMT+2: Trump participated in outdoor ceremony to mark the transfer of NATO's new headquarters building from the Belgian government to NATO. Trump was seated in the front now, next to Belgian King Philippe, NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg, and Prime Minister Theresa May (who he leaned over to speak with several times).

Sean Kilpatrick / The Canadian Press via AP

11:05am ET/ 5:05pm GMT+2: CNBC's Steve Kopack tweets a video of Trump shimmying his way to the front of a group of NATO members.

A tweet previously embedded here has been deleted or was tweeted from an account that has been suspended or deleted.

11:45am ET/ 5:45pm GMT+2: President Trump attended a working dinner in Brussels with NATO leaders at 5:45pm. WH Press Secretary Sean Spicer delivered a brief summary of the dinner to reporters. "Right off the bat, there was unanimous support for a resolution to commit to burden sharing and combatting terrorism, which are two things the president talked about during his campaign and now as president." said Spicer. He added that Secretary General Stoltenberg also gave a presentation, using "a big chart" to show how burden sharing was negative and has become more positive. "It was a very positive reaction and affirmation of the president's priorities today.

Matt Dunham / AP

Go deeper

Trump says he plans to launch new social media network in 2022

Photo: Chris Delmas/AFP via Getty Images

Former President Trump on Wednesday announced plans to launch a social media network called "Truth Social," and that it would go public via a SPAC.

Why it matters: Most ex-presidents are focused on their legacies, by creating presidential libraries or engaging in philanthropic endeavors. Trump, however, remains consumed by social media.

Beauty giant Coty Cosmetics looking to sell its own branded products

Coty Cosmetics CEO Sue Nabi. Photo: Axios on HBO

Coty Cosmetics CEO Sue Nabi tells Axios the beauty giant will “probably” introduce Coty-branded products one day.

Why it matters: Coty produces some of the world’s most popular fragrances, skin care products and color cosmetics on behalf of other well-known brands, but has shied away from producing its own branded products.

4 hours ago - Sports

NFL to end race-based testing in concussion settlements

Photo: Brett Carlsen/Getty Images

The National Football League on Wednesday reached an agreement with former players to end the controversial practice of race-based adjustments in dementia testing, AP reports.

Why it matters: The deal, which must still be approved by a judge, comes amid a broader discussion of racial inequities in health care.