Sign up for our daily briefing

Make your busy days simpler with Axios AM/PM. Catch up on what's new and why it matters in just 5 minutes.

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Catch up on the day's biggest business stories

Subscribe to Axios Closer for insights into the day’s business news and trends and why they matter

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Stay on top of the latest market trends

Subscribe to Axios Markets for the latest market trends and economic insights. Sign up for free.

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Sports news worthy of your time

Binge on the stats and stories that drive the sports world with Axios Sports. Sign up for free.

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Tech news worthy of your time

Get our smart take on technology from the Valley and D.C. with Axios Login. Sign up for free.

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Get the inside stories

Get an insider's guide to the new White House with Axios Sneak Peek. Sign up for free.

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Catch up on coronavirus stories and special reports, curated by Mike Allen everyday

Catch up on coronavirus stories and special reports, curated by Mike Allen everyday

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Want a daily digest of the top Denver news?

Get a daily digest of the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Denver

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Want a daily digest of the top Des Moines news?

Get a daily digest of the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Des Moines

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Want a daily digest of the top Twin Cities news?

Get a daily digest of the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Twin Cities

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Want a daily digest of the top Tampa Bay news?

Get a daily digest of the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Tampa Bay

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Want a daily digest of the top Charlotte news?

Get a daily digest of the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Charlotte

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Want a daily digest of the top Nashville news?

Get a daily digest of the most important stories affecting your hometown with the Axios Nashville newsletter.

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Want a daily digest of the top Columbus news?

Get a daily digest of the most important stories affecting your hometown with the Axios Columbus newsletter.

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Want a daily digest of the top Dallas news?

Get a daily digest of the most important stories affecting your hometown with the Axios Dallas newsletter.

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Sign up for Axios NW Arkansas

Stay up-to-date on the most important and interesting stories affecting NW Arkansas, authored by local reporters

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Olivier Matthys / AP

It's day five of President Trump's first foreign trip. He started his day at the Vatican, where he and Melania met with Pope Francis and exchanged gifts from their respective countries. Trump later returned to Rome to meet with the President and Prime Minister of Italy before traveling to Brussels, where he met with the King and Queen of Belgium, as well as the Prime Minister. Live updates, per White House pool reports.

The latest: President Trump arrived at the U.S. ambassador to Belgium's residence around 6:30pm local time, where he is staying for the evening. He later tweeted at the Belgian Royal Palace. "Thank you for the warm welcome to Brussels, Belgium this afternoon!"

1:59am ET/ 7:59am GMT+2: The presidential motorcade departed Villa Taverna, Trump's overnight hotel, en route to the Vatican. Trump donned a Vatican flag on his jacket along with the American standard.

Gregorio Borgia / AP

2:29am ET/ 8:29am GMT+2: The pope greeted POTUS in Sala del Tronetto, the room of the little throne, on the second floor of Apostolic Palace. The two leaders shook hands, and Trump thanked the pope for welcoming them. The pope did not say anything, and he did not smile.

L'Osservatore Romano / AP

3:01am ET/9:01am GMT+2: The pope rang the bell in his study, signaling that the one-on-one meeting is over.

Evan Vucci / AP

3:15am ET/ 9:15am GMT+2: The pope and Trump's delegation met in the Cardinal Pietro Parolin room to exchange gifts. Trump gave the Pope a case of books from Martin Luther King Jr. The pope gave Trump what he said was a medal by a Roman artist, noting that it's an olive, which is a symbol of peace. The pope then gave Trump three books that he said he gives to all Catholics on the topics of family, the joy of the gospel, and "care of our common home, the environment." Pope Francis also gave each member of Trump's delegation a token in a white box. On their way out, Trump told the Pope that the meeting was "a very great honor."

Alessandra Tarantino / AP

Note that Melania and Ivanka following proper Vatican protocal with their outfits. "Women who have an audience with the Pope are required to wear long sleeves, formal black clothing, and a veil to cover the head," Stephanie Grisham, the first lady's communications director, told CNN.

Alessandra Tarantino / AP

3:25am ET/ 9:25am GMT+2: Trump and Cardinal Secretary of State Pietro Parolin hold a bilateral meeting

Alessandra Tarantino / AP 4am ET/ 10am GMT+2: Trump and Melania tour the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. L'Osservatore Romano / Ap Gregorio Borgia / AP 5am ET/ 11am GMT+2: Melania meets with children and visits the chapel at the pediatric hospital Bambin Gesu' at the Vatican. Remo Casilli / AP

Remo Casilli / AP

5:15am ET/ 11:15am GMT+2: Trump's motorocade arrives at the Quirinal Palace, Italian President Sergio Mattarella's residence. The two leaders greeted each other, then walked down the line to greet each member of their respective delegations. They then stood in front of American and Italian flags for a photo and shook hands, before moving into a smaller room for their meeting.

Trump thanked the president for Italy's contributions to global counterterrorism efforts, especially for its participation in the Global Coalition to Counter ISIS and its active role in Iraq and Afghanistan. He also complimented the country's diplomatic efforts to end the violence in Libya.

Evan Vucci / AP

6:35am ET / 12:35am GMT+2: President Trump returned to Villa Taverna, where he participated in a meeting with Prime Minister Paolo Gentiloni of Italy. The two leaders were seated across from one another at a long, rectangular table. Their delegations were seated beside them on each side. When asked by a reporter how his meeting with Pope Francis went, Trump said, "Great. He is something. We had a fantastic meeting."

Ettore Ferrari / ANSA via AP

8:15am ET/ 2:15pm GMT+2: President Trump departed Villa Taverna in Rome and arrived at Air Force One at 2:15pm local time. They waved goodbye to Italy before ducking inside. Shortly after the plane took off, and is now headed for Brussels, Belgium.

Riccardo De Luca / AP

10:15am ET/ 4:15pm GMT+2: Air Force One touched down at Melsbroek Military Airport in Melsbroek, Belgium at 4:15pm local time. He was greeted by the Belgian PM Charles Michel, and the two made their way to a podium where they listened to the national anthems of both countries. Trump will now attend a NATO summit and meet with EU and Belgian officials, where he'll discuss his desire for NATO to formally join the fight against ISIS.

Geert Vanden Wijngaert / AP

10:55am ET/ 4:55pm GMT+2: Trump and Melania arrive at the Royal Palace in Brussels, where they are greeted Their Majesties King Philippe and Queen Mathilde of Belgium and take an official photo. Afterwards the Royal Family gave Trump and Melania tour of the palace.

Olivier Matthys / AP

11:14am ET/ 5:14pm GMT+2: President Trump participated in a bilateral meeting with Prime Minister Charles Michel of Belgium at the Royal palace. The U.S. delegation, Rex Tillerson, HR McMaster, Dina Powell, and Gary Cohn were all present. They sat at a long table under a crystal chandelier, and there was a small plate of chocolates on the table.

Trump told Michel that it was "an honor" to be with him, and that he had a great discussion with the king. "We are fighting very hard, doing very well under our generals. Making tremendous progress. But when you see something like what happened a few days ago, [the Manchester attack] you realize how important it is to win this fight. And we will win this fight."

Evan Vucci / AP
Evan Vucci / AP

Go deeper

Updated 4 hours ago - Politics & Policy

Giuliani associate Lev Parnas convicted of campaign finance crimes

Lev Parnas, a former associate of then-President Donald Trump’s personal lawyer Rudy Giuliani. Photo: Stefani Reynolds/Bloomberg via Getty Images

Florida businessman Lev Parnas was convicted Friday on charges of conspiracy to make foreign contributions to political campaigns, according to multiple outlets.

Why it matters: Prosecutors said Parnas, then an associate of former President Donald Trump's personal lawyer Rudy Giuliani, funneled over $150,000 from a Russian businessman into U.S. campaigns as part of an effort to land licenses in the U.S.'s legal cannabis industry.

Supreme Court agrees to hear challenges to Texas abortion law

Photo: Saul Loeb/AFP via Getty Images

The Supreme Court on Friday agreed to hear two cases challenging Texas' abortion law, which bans the procedure as soon as six weeks into pregnancy, but left the law in place in the meantime.

Why it matters: The court is moving extraordinarily fast on the Texas cases, compressing into just a few days a process that normally takes months. And that schedule means the court will take up Texas' ban a month before it hears another major abortion case — a challenge to Mississippi's own 2018 ban on abortions after 15 weeks.

Officials warn 5 key tech sectors will determine whether China overtakes U.S.

Illustration: Aïda Amer/Axios

U.S. intelligence officials responsible for protecting advanced technologies have narrowed their focus to five key sectors: artificial intelligence, quantum computing, biotechnology, semiconductors and autonomous systems.

Why it matters: China and Russia are employing a variety of legal and illegal methods to undermine and overtake U.S. dominance in these critical industries, officials warned in a new paper. Their success will determine "whether America remains the world’s leading superpower or is eclipsed by strategic competitors."