Jan 24, 2017

Trump resurrects the Dakota Access Pipeline

The issue:

President Trump signed an executive action on January 24 to advance construction of the pipeline. On February 7, under that executive order, the Army Corps of Engineers stated that they would allow construction to resume as soon as February 8.

The facts:

The DAPL is a more than 1,000 mile-long oil pipeline that runs through four states: North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa and Illinois. Native Americans and environmentalists spent several months in 2016 protesting construction in North Dakota, as they argued it could contaminate the water supply of the Standing Rock Sioux reservation and destroy its sacred sites. Obama successfully blocked that part of the route because it required an easement under Lake Oahe in North Dakota.

Why it matters:

Trump's successful resurrection of the pipeline signals his commitment to dismantling many of Obama's signature policies. Following his executive order, the Standing Rock Sioux stated that they would "vigorously pursue legal action to ensure the environmental impact statement order issued late last year is followed so the pipeline process is legal, fair and accurate." However, the Army's announcement on February 7 leaves the tribe with little time to find a legal option to prevent construction.

Go deeper

U.S. cities crackdown on protests against police brutality

Photo: Megan Jelinger/Anadolu Agency via Getty Images

Major U.S. cities have implemented curfews and called on National Guard to mobilize as thousands of protesters gather across the nation to continue protesting the death of George Floyd.

The state of play: Hundreds have already been arrested as tensions continue to rise between protesters and local governments. Protesters are setting police cars on fire as freeways remain blocked and windows are shattered, per the Washington Post. Law enforcement officials are using tear gas and rubber bullets to try to disperse crowds and send protesters home.

Trump to invite Russia and other non-member G7 countries to summit

President Trump at Cape Canaveral, Florida, on Saturday. Photo: Saul Martinez/Getty Images

President Trump told reporters on Saturday evening he would postpone the G7 summit to September and expand the meeting to more nations that are not members of the Group of 7.

Details: Trump said he would invite Russia, South Korea, Australia and India to the summit, according to a pool report. "I don’t feel that as a G7 it properly represents what’s going on in the world. It’s a very outdated group of countries," he said.

Updated 1 hour ago - Politics & Policy

George Floyd protests: What you need to know

Thousands of protesters march in Denver, Colorado, on May 30. Photo: Michael Ciaglo/Getty Images)

Curfews are being imposed in Portland, Oregon, and Cincinnati, while the governors of Georgia, Kentucky, Ohio and Texas activated the National Guard following unrest in the states, per AP.

The big picture: Floyd's fatal run-in with police is the latest reminder of the disparities between black and white communities in the U.S. and comes as African Americans grapple with higher death rates from the coronavirus and higher unemployment from trying to stem its spread.