Feb 6, 2023 - News

A look at candidates running for Denver City Council

Illustration of the Denver City and County Building with lines radiating from it.

Illustration: Brendan Lynch/Axios

Denver voters will have 40 candidates to choose from for 13 city council seats.

State of play: Eight incumbent council members are seeking re-election, while five seats are open.

  • Stacie Gilmore in District 11, Paul Kashmann in District 6, and Jamie Torres in District 3 are running unopposed.
  • Council members Chris Herndon, Robin Kniech, and Debbie Ortega have termed out, while Kendra Black and Jolon Clark are not seeking re-election.
  • The five open seats include Districts 4, 7, 8, and the two at-large seats.

Zoom in: This year's municipal election will be the first to take place in April after voters decided in 2021 to move it up from May.

Of note: This election cycle marks the first time candidates have access to a public campaign financing program — which partly explains the surge in candidates across municipal offices.

  • It's also the first election using redrawn council boundaries maps approved last year.
  • Denver Elections officials tell Axios Denver roughly 64,000 active voters will have different city council districts than in the previous municipal election in 2019.

District 1

Neighborhoods: Berkeley, Chaffee Park, Highland, Jefferson Park, Regis, Sunnyside, Sloan Lake, and West Highland.

Candidates: Amanda Sandoval (incumbent) and Ava Truckey.

District 2

Neighborhoods: Bear Valley, College View-South Platte, Fort Logan, Harvey Park, Harvey Park South, Marston, and parts of Mar Lee.

Candidates: Tiffany Caudill, Kevin Flynn (incumbent), and Chris Herr.

District 4

Neighborhoods: Goldsmith, Hampden, Hampden South, Kennedy, Southmoor Park, University Hills, and Wellshire.

Candidates: Diana Romero Campbell and Tony Pigford.

District 5

Neighborhoods: Cherry Club, Country Club, Hale, Hilltop, Montclair, Lowry Field, Windsor, and parts of Washington Virginia Vale.

Candidates: Michael Hughes and Amanda Sawyer (incumbent).

District 7

Neighborhoods: Athmar Park, Baker, Overland, Platte Park, Rosedale, Ruby Hill, Speer, Washington Park West, and parts of Cap Hill.

Candidates: Flor Alvidrez, Nick Campion, Adam Estroff, Arthur May and Guy Padgett.

District 8

Neighborhoods: Central Park, East Colfax, Northeast Park Hill, with parts of North Park Hill, Montbello and South Park Hill.

Candidates: Tyler Drum, Rita Lewis (write-in), Shontel Lewis, Brad Revare, Christian Steward and Leslie Twarogowski.

District 9

Neighborhoods: Clayton, Cole, Elyria Swansea, Five Points, Globeville, Skyland, Whittier, with parts of City Park, North Park Hill, South Park Hill.

Candidates: Kwon Atlas, Candi CdeBaca (incumbent) and Darrell Watson.

ICYMI: District 9 playing host to Denver's most-watched city council race

District 10

Neighborhoods: Cap Hill, Central Business District (downtown), Cheesman Park, City Park West, Civic Center, Congress Park, North Capitol Hill, Union Station, and parts of City Park.

Candidates: Chris Hinds (incumbent), Shannon Hoffman, Noah Kaplan and Margie Morris.


There are two at-large seats that are not tied to a specific part of the city.

Candidates: Will Chan, Dominic Angelo Diaz, Serena Gonzales-Gutierrez, Tim Hoffman, Janelle Jenkins (write-in), Travis Leiker, Sarah Parady, Penfield Tate III, Jeff Walker and Marty Zimmerman.

Editor's note: Be sure to check back as we update this story with additional coverage.


Get more local stories in your inbox with Axios Denver.


Support local journalism by becoming a member.

Learn more

More Denver stories

No stories could be found


Get a free daily digest of the most important news in your backyard with Axios Denver.


Support local journalism by becoming a member.

Learn more