Apr 5, 2023 - News

2023's winners of the Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards

Illustration of 2023 Anisfield-Wolf Award-winning book jackets

The Anisfield-Wolf class of 2023. Illustration: Provided by the Cleveland Foundation

The Cleveland Foundation yesterday announced the winners of the 2023 Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards, the only juried prize in the United States for books that confront racism and celebrate diversity.

The winners are:

Geraldine Brooks, "Horse," Fiction

  • Lan Samantha Chang, "The Family Chao," Fiction
  • Matthew F. Delmont, "Half American: The Epic Story of African Americans Fighting World War II at Home and Abroad," Nonfiction
  • Charlayne Hunter-Gault, Lifetime Achievement
  • Saeed Jones, "Alive at the End of the World," Poetry

Of note: Jones, founding LGBTQ editor and executive culture editor at BuzzFeed, is an Ohio resident. He moved to Columbus from New York City in 2019.

What they're saying: "This year, we honor a profound and funny novel centered in a Chinese restaurant, a brilliant story of 19th-century horseracing with contemporary echoes, a stunning poetry collection that captures who we are now, and a meticulous history that recasts our understanding of World War II," jury chair Henry Louis Gates said in a press release.

  • "All are capped by the lifetime achievement of Charlayne Hunter-Gault, who remade this country with her courage and her nuanced reporting."

Details: Gault was a trailblazing journalist — the first Black writer for The New Yorker's "Talk of the Town," the founder of The New York Times' Harlem bureau and NPR's chief Africa correspondent.

What's next: The winners will be honored at an awards ceremony Sept. 28 at the Maltz Center for Performing Arts, the marquee event of Cleveland Book Week.


Get more local stories in your inbox with Axios Cleveland.


Support local journalism by becoming a member.

Learn more

More Cleveland stories

No stories could be found


Get a free daily digest of the most important news in your backyard with Axios Cleveland.


Support local journalism by becoming a member.

Learn more