Never miss an Axios exclusive. Sign up for Mike Allen's AM newsletter.


Kevin McCarthy elected to lead House Republicans

Kevin McCarthy.
Kevin McCarthy. Photo: Bill Clark/CQ Roll Call via Getty Images

Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) has defeated Rep. Jim Jordan (R-Ohio), 159 to 43, in the election to lead the Republican minority.

What's next: McCarthy, who played a key role as chief deputy whip in flipping the House in 2010, will replace Paul Ryan as House Republican leader in January. McCarthy was widely expected to win.

More stories loading.