Wake up to Mike Allen’s AM, the 10 stories driving your day

Stories

Ben Sasse has a new book coming this fall

Sasse
Sasse on Capitol Hill. Photo: Bill Clark / CQ Roll Call

Sen. Ben Sasse (R-Neb.) is finishing a book about polarization in America, "Them: Why We Hate Each Other and How to Heal,” out Oct. 16.

Sasse's thought bubble: This isn't about politics — this is a book much more in the vein of "Coming Apart" or "Hillbilly Elegy." It's about our communities getting ripped apart.

  • From a forthcoming release: "Sasse argues that the problem is far deeper than politics or even any one politician. Across the nation, he argues, local communities are evaporating. The basic framework for everyday life — family, work, neighborhoods, friends, trust — is collapsing or, in the case of work, being vastly redefined."
  • Publishing rights were acquired by St. Martin's Press executive editor Tim Bartlett from Matt Latimer and Keith Urbahn at Javelin.
More stories loading.