May 30, 2021 - Sports

Helio Castroneves becomes four-time Indy 500 winner

A large crowd of people in a stadium

Helio Castroneves leads a pack of cars during the 105th running of the Indy 500 on May 30 in Indianapolis. Photo: Stacy Revere/Getty Images

Helio Castroneves of Brazil became one of history's few four-time Indy 500 winners on Sunday, at the world's biggest sporting event since the start of COVID-19.

The big picture: Castroneves, alongside his former mentor Rick Mears, Al Unser Sr., and A.J. Foyt, are the only four-time winners of the Indianapolis 500, per AP. 135,000 fans watched the race in-person, after last year's race was held without them.

Go deeper