Updated Jan 7, 2021 - Politics & Policy

Congress rejects objection to Arizona's electoral vote


Photo: Olivier Douliery/AFP via Getty Images

The House and Senate on Wednesday voted down Sen. Ted Cruz's objection to Arizona in the Electoral College certification process.

Driving the news: More than a dozen senators said before Wednesday’s mob violence in the U.S. Capitol that they’d object, but only six ended up voting yes. The House vote was 303-121.

  • Sens. Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.) and John Kennedy (R-La.) joined Cruz in objecting.
  • A majority of House Republicans voted to reject the electors.

The big picture: The House and Senate went into an extended recess on Wednesday after a "March for Trump" mob invaded the Capitol building, prompting mass evacuations of lawmakers, staff and members of the press.

  • Both chambers have now reconvened and are continuing the certification process.
  • States are certified in alphabetical order — with Arizona being the first battleground brought to the floor.
Go deeper