May 17, 2019 - Economy

Which parties control each state legislature and governorship

Data: National Conference of State Legislatures; Note: Nebraska’s legislature is non-partisan and D.C. does not have a governor; Chart: Harry Stevens/Axios

Heading into 2020, Republicans hold 27 governors' mansions while Democrats have 23. The GOP controls 30 state legislatures to Democrats' 19. Nebraska has a unicameral, non-partisan legislature.

Why it matters: Where the country heads on a number of key issues including abortion, gerrymandering, Medicaid, minimum wage, paid family leave, criminal justice and infrastructure is determined by action at the state level.

What's next: Most governors and some state senators elected in 2018 have four-year terms, meaning they'll be in office for the next two election cycles. However, many other legislative seats will be again up for election during the 2020 election cycle, giving both parties another round to battle.

Go deeper