Jan 3, 2019 - Politics & Policy

The Democrats who voted against Pelosi for speaker

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi after winning back the gavel. Photo: Mark Wilson/Getty Images

Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) reclaimed the gavel as speaker of the House Thursday, despite 13 House Democrats voting against her and two voting "present" — a procedural option that is not a vote for or against.

Why it matters: The split between Democrats who see Pelosi as the best possible foil to President Trump and those who sought a new generation of leadership threatened to upend her speaker bid in the immediate aftermath of the 2018 midterms. In the end, 21 Democrats who said they would support a different candidate ended up voting for Pelosi.

Here's who voted against Pelosi for speaker, and who they voted for instead:

  1. Anthony Brindisi (N.Y.): Joe Biden
  2. Jim Cooper (Tenn.): present
  3. Jason Crow (Colo.): Sen. Tammy Duckworth
  4. Joe Cunningham (S.C.): Rep. Cheri Bustos
  5. Jared Golden (Maine): Bustos
  6. Ron Kind (Wis.): Rep. John Lewis
  7. Conor Lamb (Pa.): Rep. Joe Kennedy
  8. Ben McAdams (Utah): Rep. Stephanie Murphy
  9. Kathleen Rice (N.Y.): Stacey Abrams
  10. Max Rose (N.Y.): Duckworth
  11. Kurt Schrader (Ore.): Rep. Marcia Fudge
  12. Mikie Sherrill (N.J.): Bustos
  13. Elissa Slotkin (Mich.): present
  14. Abigail Spanberger (Va.): Bustos
  15. Jeff Van Drew (N.J.): "No" changed to present

Go deeper: A look inside the most diverse Congress in history

Go deeper