Nov 14, 2018 - Politics & Policy

McConnell, Schumer re-elected as Senate leaders

Photo: Bill Pugliano/Getty Images

Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) and Sen. Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.) have been re-elected as the majority and minority leaders of the Senate, respectively, reports NBC News.

What to watch: On the other side of the Capitol, House Republicans will hold their leadership elections Wednesday afternoon, while Democrats won't vote until Nov. 28.

Republican Senate leadership:

  • Majority leader: Mitch McConnell (Ky.)
  • Majority whip: John Thune (S.D.)
  • Conference chair: John Barasso (Wyo.)
  • Policy chair: Roy Blunt (Mo.)
  • Conference vice chair: Joni Ernst (Iowa)
  • NRSC chair: Todd Young (Ind.)

Democratic Senate leadership:

  • Minority leader: Chuck Schumer (N.Y.)
  • Minority whip: Dick Durbin (Ill.)
  • Assistant leader: Patty Murray (Wash.)
  • Policy chair: Debbie Stabenow (Mich.)
  • Conference vice chair: Elizabeth Warren (Mass.)
  • Conference vice chair: Mark Warner (Va.)
  • Chair of steering committee: Amy Klobuchar (Minn.)
  • Chair of outreach: Bernie Sanders (Vt.)
  • DPCC vice chair: Joe Manchin (W.Va.)
  • Conference secretary: Tammy Baldwin (Wis.)
Go deeper