Sign up for our daily briefing

Make your busy days simpler with Axios AM/PM. Catch up on what's new and why it matters in just 5 minutes.

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Catch up on coronavirus stories and special reports, curated by Mike Allen everyday

Catch up on coronavirus stories and special reports, curated by Mike Allen everyday

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Denver news in your inbox

Catch up on the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Denver

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Des Moines news in your inbox

Catch up on the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Des Moines

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Minneapolis-St. Paul news in your inbox

Catch up on the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Twin Cities

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Tampa Bay news in your inbox

Catch up on the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Tampa Bay

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Charlotte news in your inbox

Catch up on the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Charlotte

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

39 of 51 states (including DC) had news about women marches as the main headline of their biggest newspaper's homepage as of 1/21/2017 at 9:00 p.m. EST.

Mapchart.net

Papers with headlines about the march

State: Paper (Site) Headline as of 1/21/2017 at 9:00 p.m. EST

  • Alabama: The Birmingham News (al.com) Women's March in Alabama
  • Alaska: Alaska Dispatch (adn.com) Large crowd attends Women's March on Anchorage in solidarity with national events
  • California: LA Times (Latimes.com) Massive women's march in downtown L.A. said to be largest in over a decade
  • Colorado: Denver Post (denverpost.com) Women's March on Denver swells to more than 100,000
  • Connecticut: Hartford Courant (courant.com) Estimated 10,000 March In Support Of Women's Rights In Hartford
  • Delaware: The News Journal (delawareonline.com) 1,000 plus march in Newark on Trump's first day
  • District of Columbia: The Washington Post (washingtpost.com) Millions protest at women's marches worldwide as Trump takes office
  • Florida: Tampa Bay Times (tampabay.com) Women's March surpassed 20,000 protesters, making it largest in St. Petersburg history
  • Georgia: Atlanta Journal Constitution (ajc.com) Police estimate: 60,000 in Atlanta for the social justice march to the Capitol
  • Hawaii: Honolulu Star Advertiser (staradvertiser.com) Thousands march around state Capitol in show of solidarity
  • Idaho: Boise Idaho Statesman (idahostatesman.com) 5,000 attend Boise's Women's March: '[Trump] is our leader now. ... It's important we have a voice'
  • Illinois: Chicago Tribune (chicagotribune.com) Thousands fill Loop after Women's March rally in Chicago draws 250,000
  • Kansas: Wichita Eagle (kansas.com) Wichita Women's March: one crowd but a range of reasons
  • Kentucky: Courier Journal (courier-journal.com) For Kentucky women, D.C. march just the start
  • Louisiana: The Times-Picayune (nola.com) New Orleanians march in response to Trump inauguration
  • Maine: Portland Press Herald (pressherald.com) Massive crowd turns out for women's march in Portland
  • Maryland: Baltimore Sun (baltimoresun.com) An estimated 5,000 people sing, chant, demonstrate at Baltimore's sister Women's March
  • Massachusetts: Boston Globe (globe.com) I'VE NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THIS' Boston officials estimated that up to 175,000 attended Trump protest
  • Michigan: Detroit Free Press (freep.com) Women's March on Washington a magnificent mess
  • Minnesota: Minneapolis Star Tribune (startribune.com) 90,000-plus march in St. Paul with message for Trump
  • Missouri: St. Louis Post-Dispatch (stltoday.com) Thousands take part in St. Louis Women's March, protesting Trump
  • Montana: Billings Gazette (billingzgazette.com) Montana Women's March draws an estimated 10,000
  • Nebraska: Omaha World-Herald (omaha.com) More than 1 million join anti-Trump women's marches worldwide
  • New Hampshire: New Hampshire Union Leader (unionleader.com) Thousands rally for women's rights in NH after Trump takes power
  • New Mexico: Albuquerque Journal (abqjournal.com) Thousands rally for women in Albuquerque, Santa Fe
  • New York: New York Times (nytimes.com) We're Not Going Away': Huge Crowds for Women's Marches Against Trump
  • North Carolina: Charlotte Observer (charlotteobserver.com) Women's March on Charlotte draws 'at least 10,000,' CMPD says
  • Ohio: Cleveland Plain Dealer (cleveland.com) Women's March on Washington: What are they fighting for?
  • Oregon: The Oregonian (oregonlive.com) Huge crowd at Portland Women's March fills city center: 'Women's rights are human rights'
  • Rhode Island: Rhode Island Providence Journal (providencejournal.com) From Providence to Washington, Rhode Islander turn out to send Trump a message
  • South Dakota: Argus Leader (argusleader.com) Thousands join women's march in Downtown Sioux Falls
  • Texas: Dallas Morning News (dallasnews.com) This Day in Trump, Day 2: All eyes on crowd size
  • Utah: Salt Lake Tribune (sltrib.com) Among the massive Women's March crowd in Washington — Utahns who want their voices heard
  • Vermont: Burlington Free Press (burlingtonfreepress.com) Montpelier women's march draws 15,000
  • Virginia: Virginian Pilot (pilotonline.com) Women from Hampton Roads participate with thousands in Washington, D.C., march
  • Washington: Seattle Times (seattletimes.com) Live updates: Protesting Trump, more than 100,000 march in Seattle
  • West Virginia: Charleston Gazette-Mail (wvgazettemail.com) Women worldwide march in protest against Trump
  • Wisconsin: Milwaukee Journal Sentinel (jsonline.com) "Look at us now!" Women's marches against Trump across America
  • Wyoming: Casper Star Tribune (trib.com) Women's Marches in Casper, Cheyenne draw large crowds

Papers without main headlines about the march

  • Arizona: Arizona Republic (azrepublic.com) Ken Colburn How to pick the best cellphone network
  • Arkansas: Arkansas Democrat-Gazette (arkansasonline.com) Tornado warnings issued for part of southern Arkansas; tornado watch covers large swath of state
  • Indiana: Indianapolis Star (indystar.com) Colts fire GM Ryan Grigson, Manning not in the mix to replace him
  • Iowa: Des Moines Register (desmoinesregister.com) In double OT, Iowa State breaks recent losing run at Oklahoma
  • Mississippi: Clarion-Ledger (clarionledger.com) Tornado leaves 4 dead, thousands without power
  • Nevada: Las Vegas Review Journal (reviewjournal.com) Free Las Vegas attractions? Not when you factor in parking
  • New Jersey: Newark Star Ledger (nj.com/starledger) What 2 ex-N.J. governors say about GOP vs. Obamacare; Christie's opioid epidemic policy
  • North Dakota: The Forum of Fargo-Moorehead (inforum.com) McFeely: It's the media's duty to shine light on hatred
  • Oklahoma: The Oklahoman (oklahoman.com) 'You Will Never Be Ignored Again': Speech shows America getting what it ordered
  • Pennsylvania: Philadelphia Inquirer (philly.com) DA Williams fined $62,000 for ethics violations
  • South Carolina: The State (thestate.com) McMaster to remain in all-white country club as SC governor
  • Tennessee: Tennessean (tennessean.com) Task force to study Episcopal diocese's same-sex marriage ban

Go deeper

Ina Fried, author of Login
39 mins ago - Technology

Google's parent shuts down effort to deliver internet via balloons

Image: Loon

Alphabet is shutting down Loon, one of its "moonshots," which aimed to deliver internet service via high-altitude balloons.

Why it matters: The effort was one of several approaches designed to get high-speed connectivity to some of the world's most remote spots and proved useful in the aftermath of disasters that shut down traditional infrastructure.

Dave Lawler, author of World
55 mins ago - World

What has and hasn't changed as Biden takes over U.S. foreign policy

Photo Illustration: Brendan Lynch/Axios. Photo: Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images

President Biden swiftly recommitted the U.S. to the Paris climate pact and the World Health Organization, but America's broader foreign policy is in a state of flux between the Trump and Biden eras.

Driving the news: One of the most striking moves from the Biden administration thus far was a show of continuity — concurring with the Trump administration's last-minute determination that China had committed "genocide" against Uyghur Muslims.

Updated 2 hours ago - Politics & Policy

Coronavirus dashboard

Illustration: Aïda Amer/Axios

  1. Health: New coronavirus cases down, but more bad news ahead — Fighting COVID-19's effects on gender equality.
  2. Politics: Biden unveils "wartime" COVID strategyBiden's COVID-19 bubble.
  3. Vaccine: NYC postpones vaccine appointments following shipment delays — Private companies step in to fill vaccine logistics vacuum.
  4. World: Biden will order U.S. to rejoin World Health OrganizationBiden to bring U.S. into global COVAX initiative for equitable vaccine access.