One year later: Where each state stands on sports betting

Adapted from American Gaming Association; Cartogram: Andrew Witherspoon/Axios

One year ago today, the Supreme Court struck down the Professional and Amateur Sports Protection Act (PASPA), which had prevented states from creating their own regulations regarding sports betting.

By the numbers:

  • 8 states now offer legal sports betting: Nevada, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, New Mexico, Mississippi, Rhode Island, and West Virginia.
  • $7.9 billion has been legally wagered since PASPA was overturned.
  • $600 million was wagered by Nevada bettors in March — a new monthly record.
  • 30 states are considering legalizing sports betting in 2019.

Go deeper: Read the American Gaming Association's full breakdown

This story first appeared in Axios Sports

Sign up for a daily look at the news and trends dominating the sports world