Axios Pro Exclusive Content

Nuclear regulator chair advances

illustration of an atom surrounded by shapes and legal symbols

Illustration: Tiffany Herring/Axios

The Senate EPW Committee backed NRC Chair Christopher Hanson on Wednesday in a bipartisan vote.

Why it matters: Hanson's on track to be confirmed to a second term, as the commission faces numerous questions about the future of advanced nuclear reactors.

Driving the news: EPW voted 18–1 to send Hanson's nomination to the full Senate. Cynthia Lummis was the lone dissenter.

  • Ranking Member Shelley Moore Capito said she supported Hanson after he committed to work on making licensing for advanced reactors more efficient.
  • She said Hanson and the commission should be prepared for the ADVANCE Act to become law.
Go deeper