Jul 19, 2021 - Politics & Policy

McCarthy decides on 5 Republicans for Jan. 6 select committee

House Minority Leader Rep. Kevin McCarthy

House Minority Leader Rep. Kevin McCarthy. Photo: Alex Wong/Getty Images

House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) has decided which Republicans he will name to a select committee investigating the deadly Jan. 6 Capitol riot, two sources with direct knowledge of the matter confirmed to Axios.

Driving the news: McCarthy will name Rep. Jim Banks (Ind.) as ranking member, alongside Reps. Jim Jordan (Ohio), Rodney Davis (Ill.), Kelly Armstrong (N.D.), and freshman Troy Nehls (Texas).

State of play: McCarthy's appointments come just over a week away from the committee's first hearing on July 27, which will feature testimony from law enforcement officers who were subject to some of the worst of violence during the insurrection.

  • The select committee will comprise 13 members, and House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) has the final say as to who sits on the panel.
  • This committee is Democrat-led, though Pelosi also named Rep. Liz Cheney (R-Wyo.) as one of her appointees.

The big picture: Pelosi moved forward with the creation of a committee controlled by Democrats after Senate Republicans blocked a bill that would have established a bipartisan 9/11-style commission to probe the Jan. 6 attack.

Go deeper