Sep 2, 2020 - Politics & Policy

Commission on Presidential Debates announces moderators

Trump and Biden

Photo illustration: Aïda Amer/Axios. Photos: Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images, Mandel Ngan/AFP

The Commission on Presidential Debates on Wednesday announced the moderators for the general election debates: Fox News' Chris Wallace, USA Today's Susan Page, C-SPAN's Steve Scully and NBC News' Kristen Welker.

What to watch: President Trump has previously been a harsh critic of Chris Wallace and attacked NBC as "fake news."

What they're saying: "These are not the moderators we would have recommended if the campaign had been allowed to have any input," Trump campaign spokesman Tim Murtaugh said in a statement.

  • "One thing is sure: Chris Wallace’s selection ensures that Biden will finally see him face-to-face after dodging his interview requests," he added.


  • First presidential debate on Sept. 29: Chris Wallace
  • Vice presidential debate on Oct. 7: Susan Page
  • Second presidential debate on Oct. 15: Steve Scully
  • Third presidential debate on Oct. 22: Kristen Welker

The first and third presidential debates will be held in 15-minute segments, while the vice presidential debate will only allow for 10-minute segments. Candidates will have two minutes to respond to each question.

  • The second presidential debate will be held through a town meeting, with audience members posing questions.
  • Each debate will air 9pm–10:30pm ET.
Go deeper