Massachusetts to fine travelers if they violate COVID-19 restrictions
Massachusetts Gov. Charlie Baker issued new travel restrictions Friday, in which returning residents and non-residents could be fined up to $500 a day for failing to comply starting Aug. 1.
The big picture: States including New York are limiting travel from neighboring hot spots to prevent further spread of the coronavirus.
Details: Travelers must complete a form before arriving in Massachusetts if coming from areas deemed at-risk. Individuals from low-risk states are exempt. Travelers can also quarantine for 14 days or produce a negative COVID-19 test result that has been administered up to 72-hours prior to arrival in the state.