Jun 2, 2018

Trump nominates new Federal Communications Commission member

Federal Communications Commission. Photo credit should read BRENDAN SMIALOWSKI/AFP/Getty Images)

The White House has announced the nomination of Geoffrey Starks to be a member of the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) for a five-year term. Trump also nominated Elad Roisman to be commissioner of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) for a five-year term.

Why it matters, per Axios' Kim Hart: If confirmed, Starks would fill the seat vacated by commissioner Mignon Clyburn, a Democrat, who announced her resignation in April. Starks and FCC Chairman Ajit Pai share Kansas roots. Starks currently works in the agencyโ€™s enforcement bureau, which investigates possible violations of FCC rules.

Go deeper

Coronavirus spreads to more countries, and U.S. ups its case count

Data: The Center for Systems Science and Engineering at Johns Hopkins, the CDC, and China's Health Ministry. Note: China numbers are for the mainland only and U.S. numbers include repatriated citizens.

The novel coronavirus continues to spread to more nations, and the U.S. reports a doubling of its confirmed cases to 34 โ€” while noting those are mostly due to repatriated citizens, emphasizing there's no "community spread" yet in the U.S. Meanwhile, Italy reported its first virus-related death on Friday.

The big picture: COVID-19 has now killed at least 2,359 people and infected more than 77,000 others, mostly in mainland China. New countries to announce infections recently include Israel, Lebanon and Iran.

Go deeperArrowUpdated 5 hours ago - Health

Axios Dashboard

Keep up with breaking news throughout the day โ€” sign up for our alerts.

Wells Fargo agrees to pay $3 billion to settle consumer abuse charges

Clients use an ATM at a Wells Fargo Bank in Los Angeles, Calif. Photo: Ronen Tivony/SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images

Wells Fargo agreed to a pay a combined $3 billion to the Justice Department and the Securities and Exchange Commission on Friday for opening millions of fake customer accounts between 2002 and 2016, the SEC said in a press release.

The big picture: The fine "is among the largest corporate penalties reached during the Trump administration," the Washington Post reports.