Get the latest market trends in your inbox

Stay on top of the latest market trends and economic insights with the Axios Markets newsletter. Sign up for free.

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Catch up on coronavirus stories and special reports, curated by Mike Allen everyday

Catch up on coronavirus stories and special reports, curated by Mike Allen everyday

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Denver news in your inbox

Catch up on the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Denver

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Des Moines news in your inbox

Catch up on the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Des Moines

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Minneapolis-St. Paul news in your inbox

Catch up on the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Minneapolis-St. Paul

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Tampa-St. Petersburg news in your inbox

Catch up on the most important stories affecting your hometown with Axios Tampa-St. Petersburg

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!

Evan Vucci / AP

President Trump is in Israel Monday, the second leg of his first foreign trip, where he's holding meetings with Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu and President Reuven Rivlin in Tel Aviv and Jerusalem. Follow along for live updates.

The latest: Trump and Melania have arrived at Netanyahu's residence, where they signed Bibi's guestbook and took a brief tour of the house. The two leaders then delivered a joint statement. They took no questions, but traded compliments and spoke of their optimism that a peace deal could be reached.

5:21am ET/ 12:21pm GMT+3: President Trump and Melania touched down at Ben Gurion International Airport in Tel Aviv, where they greeted Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu and his wife Sara. Soon after their arrival, Sara was reportedly overheard telling Melania that the media also hates her and Bibi. "You know in Israel all the people like us, the media hate us but the people love us," said Sara, per Israel's Channel 2. "Like you."

Oded Balilty / AP

6:55am ET/ 1:55pm GMT+3: Bibi tweets a group photo.

7am ET/ 2pm GMT+3: Marine One lands in Jerusalem. Trump meets with President Rivlin at his residence for a bilat. Trump commended Rivlin's work, and the two discussed the "opportunity" for Israel and other countries in the Middle East to come together.

Atef Safadi / EPA Pool via AP

7:50am ET/ 2:50pm GMT+3: Trump and Rivlin deliver a joint statement in Jerusalem. Key quote:

"This moment in history calls for us to strengthen our cooperation, as both Israel and America face common threats – from ISIS and other terrorist groups, to countries like Iran that sponsor terrorism and fund and foment terrible violence. Together, we can work to end the scourge of violence that has taken so many lives, here in Israel and around the world." — Donald Trump.
Evan Vucci / AP

8:45am ET/ 3:45pm GMT+3: Trump and Melania visit the Church of the Holy Sepulchre in Jerusalem.

Evan Vucci / AP

9:27am ET/ 4:27pm GMT+3: President Trump becomes the first sitting president in U.S. history to visit the Western Wall (Obama went as a candidate). He solemnly pressed his right hand against the Holy site, and left a note inside, in accordance with Jewish tradition. Trump was accompanied by Melania, Ivanka, and Jared.

Evan Vucci / AP

11am ET/ 6:pm GMT+3: Melania Trump and Sara Netanyahu visit children on their tour of Hadassah Ein Kerem Hospital.

Sebastian Scheiner / AP

11:05am ET/ 6:03pm GMT+3: President Trump meets with Bibi in Jerusalem, where he criticizes the Iran deal as Netanyahu nods along. "We gave them wealth and prosperity... and an ability to continue with terror," said Trump. "Iran will never have a nuclear weapon. That I can tell you." Trump also told Bibi that he "never mentioned the word or the name Israel" during his Oval Office meeting with top Russian officials. "They're all saying I did, so you have another story wrong."

Evan Vucci / AP

3pm ET/ 10pm GMT+3: Fireworks were shot over the Old City in Jerusalem following Trump and Melania's dinner with Netanyahu and Sara.

Evan Vucci / AP

Go deeper

13 hours ago - World

Maximum pressure campaign escalates with Fakhrizadeh killing

Photo: Fars News Agency via AP

The assassination of Mohsen Fakhrizadeh, the architect of Iran’s military nuclear program, is a new height in the maximum pressure campaign led by the Trump administration and the Netanyahu government against Iran.

Why it matters: It exceeds the capture of the Iranian nuclear archives by the Mossad, and the sabotage in the advanced centrifuge facility in Natanz.

Scoop: Biden weighs retired General Lloyd Austin for Pentagon chief

Lloyd Austin testifying before Congress in 2015. Photo: Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images

Joe Biden is considering retired four-star General Lloyd Austin as his nominee for defense secretary, adding him to a shortlist that includes Jeh Johnson, Tammy Duckworth and Michele Flournoy, two sources with direct knowledge of the decision-making tell Axios.

Why it matters: A nominee for Pentagon chief was noticeably absent when the president-elect rolled out his national security team Tuesday. Flournoy had been widely seen as the likely pick, but Axios is told other factors — race, experience, Biden's comfort level — have come into play.

Updated 15 hours ago - Politics & Policy

Coronavirus dashboard

Illustration: Sarah Grillo/Axios

  1. Health: WHO: AstraZeneca vaccine must be evaluated on "more than a press release."
  2. Politics: Supreme Court backs religious groups on New York COVID restrictions.
  3. World: Thailand, Philippines sign deal with AstraZeneca for vaccine.
  4. Economy: Safety nets to disappear in December Black Friday shopping across the U.S., in photosAmazon hires 1,400 workers a day throughout pandemic.
  5. Education: National standardized tests delayed until 2022.

Get Axios AM in your inbox

Catch up on coronavirus stories and special reports, curated by Mike Allen everyday

Please enter a valid email.

Please enter a valid email.

Subscription failed
Thank you for subscribing!