The Swedish Academy announces the winners of the 2018 and 2019 Nobel Prizes in literature. Photo: Karin Wesslen/TT News Agency/AFP/Getty Images

Two writers were awarded Nobel Prizes in literature on Thursday — following a scandal at the Swedish Academy that led to the postponement of the 2018 award, reports the New York Times.

The big picture: The Nobel Prize in literature has been awarded to 2 people simultaneously 4 times, the last in 1974 to Swedish writers Eyvind Johnson and Harry Martinson, according to the Times.

Backdrop: The 2018 award was postponed after the husband of an academy member was indicted for rape, notes the New York Times. It prompted the departure of multiple academy members.

The winners:

  • Polish author Olga Tokarczuk received the 2018 award "for a narrative imagination that with encyclopedic passion represents the crossing of boundaries as a form of life."
  • Austrian writer Peter Handke received the 2019 award "for an influential work that with linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human experience."

Go deeper

Updated 10 mins ago - Politics & Policy

Coronavirus dashboard

Illustration: Sarah Grillo/Axios

  1. Politics: Biden ahead in Wisconsin, Michigan as cases surge in the Midwest.
  2. Health: Trump's testing czar: Surge "is real" and not just caused by more testsMask mandates help control rise in hospitalizations Some coronavirus survivors have "autoantibodies."
  3. Business: Consumer confidence sinking Testing is a windfall.
  4. World: Europe faces "stronger and deadlier" wave France imposes lockdown Germany to close bars and restaurants for a month.
  5. Sports: Boston Marathon delayed MLB to investigate Dodgers player who joined celebration after positive COVID test.
Updated 29 mins ago - Politics & Policy

Supreme Court rejects GOP push to cut absentee ballot deadline in N.C.

Photo: Robert Alexander/Getty Images

The Supreme Court on Wednesday rejected a request by the Trump campaign and other Republicans to shorten North Carolina's deadline for mail-in ballots from nine to three days.

The big picture: This is the latest of a series of decisions over mail-in ballot deadlines in various states.

Hurricane Zeta makes landfall on Louisiana coast as Category 2 storm

A satellite image of Hurricane Zeta. Photo: National Hurricane Center/NOAA

Hurricane Zeta is "battering southeastern Louisiana and southern Mississippi with life-threatening storm surge, high winds, and heavy rain," per the National Hurricane Center.

What's happening: The hurricane was producing maximum sustained winds of nearly 110 mph and stronger gusts after making landfall on the southeastern coast of Louisiana as a Category 2 storm earlier Wednesday.