Mar 6, 2024 - Politics

Primary election 2024: Race results from the Charlotte area

Voting sign

A voter arrives on Super Tuesday at Mt. Moriah Primitive Baptist Church. Photo: Grant Baldwin/Getty Images

A potential comeback for a prospective congressman and the defeat of a popular county commissioner were the stunner stories of primary election night.

  • 147,269 voters in Mecklenburg County cast ballots this election cycle — a turnout of 18.67%.

Zoom out: Click here for results from North Carolina's statewide races, including the gubernatorial and attorney general primaries.

And head here for Axios' nationwide Super Tuesday coverage.

Here are our local results:

NC's 8th Congressional District

Republican Mark Harris won with just over 30% of the votes.

  • Harris will be a favorite against Democrat Justin Dues in a district where nearly 60% of voters supported Trump in 2020.

Why it matters: Harris' 2018 campaign was linked to allegations of election fraud. His win signals voters still trust him enough for a second chance.

Go deeper

NC's 14th Congressional District

House Speaker Tim Moore, the state's longest-serving House Speaker, won easily over two other Republicans in the primaries.

  • Pam Genant will be his Democratic opponent.

State legislature

Nicole Sidman will take on Tricia Cotham in House District 105. Three Democrats ran in the primaries, hoping to be the one to seek revenge on Cotham. Cotham switched parties from Democrat to Republican mid-legislative season last year.

  • Senate District 41: Caleb Theodros, the former chair of the Black Political Caucus, won this primary. There is no Republican in the race.
  • Senate District 42: Republican Stacie McGinn will face Democrat Woodson Bradley in the general.
  • House District 98: Democrat Beth Helfrich will face former Huntersville Mayor Melinda Bales, a Republican, for Rep. John Bradford's seat.
  • House District 106: Carla Cunningham fended off her opponent Vermanno Bowman. Without a Republican opponent, she's set to serve a seventh term.

Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners

Pat Cotham, who was first elected in 2012, was ousted from the board of commissioners. Yvette Townsend-Ingram and two incumbents — Leigh Altman and Arthur Griffin Jr. — were the three candidates to receive the most votes.

  • No Republicans are running in the at-large race.

Why it matters: Voters may have punished Pat Cotham for the actions of her daughter, House Rep. Tricia Cotham.

  • District 2: Even with the influential Black Political Caucus endorsement, Charles Osborne could not defeat longtime commissioner Vilma D. Leake in this southwest district. Leake will face Angela White Edwards, who's run three times before, in the general.
  • District 3: Chair George Dunlap defeated Felicia R. Thompkins. He won't face a Republican challenger in the general.
  • Three other incumbents — Susan Rodriguez-McDowell, Laura Meier and Elaine Powell — must fend off Republican challengers in November to keep their seats.

Get more local stories in your inbox with Axios Charlotte.

More Charlotte stories