Jan 15, 2019

White House announces pared-down Davos delegation

Secretary of the Treasury Steven Mnuchin listens during a Financial Stability Oversight Council meeting October 16, 2018 at the Treasury Department in Washington, DC.

Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin. Photo: Alex Wong/Getty Images

The White House released a downsized list of four Trump Cabinet members that are still scheduled to attend the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland next week.

The big picture: The change is a result of the ongoing government shutdown. Though President Trump cancelled his plans to attend last week, an entourage of Cabinet members still wouldn't be a good look while furloughed federal employees aren't getting paid, as Axios' Alayna Treene and Jonathan Swan reported.

Cabinet members still attending:

  • Treasury Secretary Steve Mnuchin, who will lead the delegation
  • Secretary of State Mike Pompeo
  • Commerce Secretary Wilbur Ross
  • U.S. Trade Representative Robert Lighthizer

Those no longer making the trip:

  • Labor Secretary Alexander Acosta
  • Small Business Administrator Linda McMahon
  • DHS Secretary Kirstjen Nielsen
  • Transportation Secretary Elaine Chao

Go deeper: All the ways Americans are feeling the effects of the shutdown

Go deeper