Jan 31, 2017

Today at the Senate

Matt Rourke / AP

Senate panels fired off a series of approvals for Trump's Cabinet nominees on Tuesday following intense criticism from the GOP for holding up the confirmation process. Those who are advancing in the confirmation process are:

  • Montana Rep. Ryan Zinke to serve as Interior secretary.
  • Former Texas Gov. Rick Perry to serve as Energy secretary.
  • Michigan billionaire Betsy DeVos to serve as Secretary of Education.

Elaine Chao was also confirmed by the full Senate as Secretary of Transportation. Six Democrats voted no, including Kirsten Gillibrand, Jeff Merkley, Bernie Sanders, Chuck Schumer, Elizabeth Warren and Cory Booker.

Go deeper